[Nrg-l] CFP: Global Internet (alongside Infocom)

Azer Bestavros best at cs.bu.edu
Mon Jan 8 10:48:43 EST 2007

Note the open editorial process. 


		10th IEEE Global Internet Symposium 2007
		 (in conjunction with IEEE Infocom 2007

		    Anchorage, AK, May 11-12, 2007

   	       Paper Submission Deadline: February 5, 2007
	         *** with a new open review process ***

Call for Papers

The 10th IEEE Global Internet Symposium will be held simultaneously and
co-located with IEEE Infocom 2007.  All relevant dates, location, and
travel information are available from the IEEE Infocom 2007 conference
site: http://www.ieee-infocom.org/2007.  Paper submission guidelines can
be found at http://netsec.cs.uoregon.edu/gi2007.

Symposium Topics

IEEE Global Internet 2007 aims to provide a forum for researchers and
practitioners to present and discuss advances in Internet-related
technologies. The focus of the symposium is on experimental systems and
on emerging Internet technologies. The Program Committee encourages
original submissions describing promising work in progress, speculations
about the future of the Internet, and progressive position papers.
Authors are invited to submit papers on any issue related to Internet
technology, including but not limited to the following topics:

    * P2P networking and overlay networks
    * Privacy and/or security issues in the Internet
    * Provisioning, monitoring, and management of IP services (VPNs,
      traffic engineering, mobility support, etc.)
    * Content networking (caching, content distribution, content
      routing, content services, load balancing, etc.)
    * Distributed Internet applications including games, VoIP, and video
    * Novel applications and new paradigms (telephony, streaming media,
    * Handling Internet dynamics/heterogeneity (by applications and/or
      the network)
    * Routing (unicast, multicast, anycast, etc.)
    * Flow management (fairness/sharing, congestion control,
      differentiated services, etc.)
    * The Internet and mobility/mobile devices
    * Traffic measurement, analysis, modeling, and visualization
    * Anomaly, intrusion and attack detection

Important Dates
 	 Paper Registration Due:  January 29, 2007
	 Paper Submissions Due:  February 5, 2007
 	 Notification of Acceptance:   March 19, 2007
 	 Final Manuscript Due:   April 9, 2007
 	 Symposium:    May 11-12, 2007

Open Review Process

The review process will follow a radically different format: the
reviewers' names will be made known to the authors. In addition, if the
authors of the paper consent, the reviews and the names of the reviewers
will be posted on our website. The goal is to put more stress on the
reviewers to be gentle and thorough in their reviews. Note that GI 2007
is arguably the first forum to implement this approach in the recent

Executive Committee

 	- TPC Co-Chairs: Michalis Faloutsos, UC Riverside
 		      Reza Rejaie, University of Oregon
 	- Web Chair:  Jun Li, University of Oregon
 	- Publication Chair: Jakob Eriksson, MIT
 	- Local Arrangement: Jun-Hong Cui, University of Connecticut,

Technical Program Committee

      Kevin Almeroth, University of California, Santa Barbara 
      Sujata Banerjee, HP Labs 
      Anup Basu, University of Alberta
      Azer Bestavros, Boston University 
      Georg Carle, University of Tuebingen 
      Jon Crowcroft, University of Cambridge, UK
      Michael Devetsikiotis, North Carolina State University
      Christos Douligeris, University of Piraeus
      Sonia Fahmy, Purdue University 
      Paul Francis, Cornell University
      Christos Gkantsidis, Microsoft Research
      Tim Griffin, University of Cambridge, UK 
      Ahmed Helmy,  University of Florida
      Kevin Jeffay, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
      Anestis Karasaridis, AT&T Labs
      Jorg Liebeherr, University of Toronto
      Bin Liu, Tsinghua University
      John Lui, Chinese University of Hong Kong 
      Christos Papadopoulos, Colorado State University
      Craig Partridge, BBN Technologies
      George C. Polyzos, Athens University of Economics and Business,
      Peter Reiher, University of California, Los Angeles
      Henning Schulzrinne, Columbia University 
      Samar Singh, La Trobe University, Australia
      George Stamoulis, Athens University of Economics and Business,
      James Sterbenz, The University of Kansas
      Ljiljana Trajkovic, Simon Fraser University 
      Walter Willinger, AT&T Labs 
      Daniel Zappala, Brigham Young University
      Zhi-Li Zhang, University of Minnesota 
      Taieb Znati, University of Pittsburgh 

More information about the Nrg-l mailing list