<div class="gmail_quote">---------- Forwarded message ----------<br>From: &quot;John Steinberger&quot; &lt;<a href="mailto:jpsteinb@gmail.com">jpsteinb@gmail.com</a>&gt;<br>Date: Aug 13, 2013 3:39 AM<br>Subject: Fwd: please post: August 20 ISC deadline: Final Call for Papers<br>
To: &quot;Periklis Papakonstantinou&quot; &lt;<a href="mailto:ppapakons@gmail.com">ppapakons@gmail.com</a>&gt;, &quot;Adam O&#39;Neill&quot; &lt;<a href="mailto:amoneill@gmail.com">amoneill@gmail.com</a>&gt;, &quot;Yu Yu&quot; &lt;<a href="mailto:yuyuathk@gmail.com">yuyuathk@gmail.com</a>&gt;, &quot;Phillip Rogaway&quot; &lt;<a href="mailto:rogaway@cs.ucdavis.edu">rogaway@cs.ucdavis.edu</a>&gt;, &quot;Thomas Ristenpart&quot; &lt;<a href="mailto:rist@cs.wisc.edu">rist@cs.wisc.edu</a>&gt;, &quot;Martijn Stam&quot; &lt;<a href="mailto:stam@compsci.bristol.ac.uk">stam@compsci.bristol.ac.uk</a>&gt;, &quot;Yevgeniy Dodis&quot; &lt;<a href="mailto:dodis@cs.nyu.edu">dodis@cs.nyu.edu</a>&gt;<br>
Cc: <br><br type="attribution"><div dir="ltr">Hi people,<div><br></div><div>Here is a conference call. Forward to potentially interested people as you see fit. Thxs.</div><div><br><div class="gmail_quote">---------- Forwarded message ----------<br>
From: <b class="gmail_sendername">Yvo Desmedt</b> <span dir="ltr">&lt;<a href="mailto:Yvo.Desmedt@utdallas.edu" target="_blank">Yvo.Desmedt@utdallas.edu</a>&gt;</span><br>
Date: Mon, Aug 12, 2013 at 11:42 PM<br>Subject: please post: August 20 ISC deadline: Final Call for Papers<br>To: <a href="mailto:vijay.varadharajan@mq.edu.au" target="_blank">vijay.varadharajan@mq.edu.au</a>, <a href="mailto:smclaugh@cse.psu.edu" target="_blank">smclaugh@cse.psu.edu</a>, <a href="mailto:gka@zurich.ibm.com" target="_blank">gka@zurich.ibm.com</a>, <a href="mailto:pizzaman@iseclab.org" target="_blank">pizzaman@iseclab.org</a>, <a href="mailto:ljean@ljean.com" target="_blank">ljean@ljean.com</a>, <a href="mailto:david.naccache@ens.fr" target="_blank">david.naccache@ens.fr</a>, <a href="mailto:hanaoka-goichiro@aist.go.jp" target="_blank">hanaoka-goichiro@aist.go.jp</a>, <a href="mailto:yonwang@uncc.edu" target="_blank">yonwang@uncc.edu</a>, <a href="mailto:bertino@cerias.purdue.edu" target="_blank">bertino@cerias.purdue.edu</a>, <a href="mailto:okamoto.tatsuaki@lab.ntt.co.jp" target="_blank">okamoto.tatsuaki@lab.ntt.co.jp</a>, <a href="mailto:e.dawson@qut.edu.au" target="_blank">e.dawson@qut.edu.au</a>, <a href="mailto:benoit.libert@technicolor.com" target="_blank">benoit.libert@technicolor.com</a>, <a href="mailto:helger.lipmaa@gmail.com" target="_blank">helger.lipmaa@gmail.com</a>, <a href="mailto:briaking@gmail.com" target="_blank">briaking@gmail.com</a>, <a href="mailto:takagi@math.kyushu-u.ac.jp" target="_blank">takagi@math.kyushu-u.ac.jp</a>, <a href="mailto:josef.pieprzyk@mq.edu.au" target="_blank">josef.pieprzyk@mq.edu.au</a>, <a href="mailto:mqwang@sdu.edu.cn" target="_blank">mqwang@sdu.edu.cn</a>, <a href="mailto:jajodia@gmu.edu" target="_blank">jajodia@gmu.edu</a>, <a href="mailto:josang@mn.uio.no" target="_blank">josang@mn.uio.no</a>, <a href="mailto:silviol@google.com" target="_blank">silviol@google.com</a>, <a href="mailto:jlm@lcc.uma.es" target="_blank">jlm@lcc.uma.es</a>, <a href="mailto:miyaji@jaist.ac.jp" target="_blank">miyaji@jaist.ac.jp</a>, <a href="mailto:giuper@gmail.com" target="_blank">giuper@gmail.com</a>, <a href="mailto:bart.preneel@esat.kuleuven.be" target="_blank">bart.preneel@esat.kuleuven.be</a>, <a href="mailto:rei@cpsc.ucalgary.ca" target="_blank">rei@cpsc.ucalgary.ca</a>, <a href="mailto:sakurai@csce.kyushu-u.ac.jp" target="_blank">sakurai@csce.kyushu-u.ac.jp</a>, <a href="mailto:pierangela.samarati@unimi.it" target="_blank">pierangela.samarati@unimi.it</a>, <a href="mailto:spaf@cerias.purdue.edu" target="_blank">spaf@cerias.purdue.edu</a>, <a href="mailto:ron.steinfeld@monash.edu" target="_blank">ron.steinfeld@monash.edu</a>, <a href="mailto:thomas.gross@newcastle.ac.uk" target="_blank">thomas.gross@newcastle.ac.uk</a>, john.zic@csiro.au, <a href="mailto:sabrina.decapitani@unimi.it" target="_blank">sabrina.decapitani@unimi.it</a>, <a href="mailto:guan@iastate.edu" target="_blank">guan@iastate.edu</a>, <a href="mailto:chow@cs.hku.hk" target="_blank">chow@cs.hku.hk</a>, <a href="mailto:danfeng@cs.vt.edu" target="_blank">danfeng@cs.vt.edu</a>, <a href="mailto:jpsteinb@gmail.com" target="_blank">jpsteinb@gmail.com</a>, <a href="mailto:cetucker@mit.edu" target="_blank">cetucker@mit.edu</a>, <a href="mailto:acquisti@andrew.cmu.edu" target="_blank">acquisti@andrew.cmu.edu</a>, <a href="mailto:josh.schiffman@amd.com" target="_blank">josh.schiffman@amd.com</a><br>

<br><br>                                   ISC 2013<br>
<br>
                    Dallas, Texas, November 13 - 15, 2013<br>
<br>
                         <a href="http://www.utdallas.edu/isc/" target="_blank">http://www.utdallas.edu/isc/</a><br>
<br>
                            Final Call for Papers<br>
<br>
              Extended Submission Deadline: August 20 at 4pm GMT<br>
<br>
<br>
BACKGROUND: The Information Security Conference (ISC), which started as a<br>
workshop (ISW) in 1997, is an international conference organized yearly. It<br>
has been held in 5 different continents. Its proceedings are published by<br>
Springer.<br>
<br>
<br>
TOPICS OF INTEREST: The conference seeks submissions on novel theoretical and<br>
practical results of Information Security, or on Information Security aspects<br>
of:<br>
<br>
    o access control           o embedded systems      o operating system<br>
    o anonymity                o fingerprinting        o outsourcing IT<br>
    o authentication           o formal methods        o pervasive computing<br>
    o biometrics               o hardware              o predicting malware (*)<br>
    o cloud computing          o identity management   o privacy<br>
    o cryptography             o incident response     o social networks<br>
    o database security        o insider threats       o software security<br>
    o digital right management o intrusion detection   o trust management<br>
    o dissemination control    o key management        o trust models<br>
    o eBusiness                o location services     o user-friendliness<br>
    o eCommerce                o malware               o e-voting<br>
    o eGovernment              o mobile code aspects   o watermarking<br>
    o economic aspects         o network security      o web security<br>
<br>
(*) See under: New Topic of Interest.<br>
<br>
Papers on other topics on Information Security are also welcome.  ISC has<br>
attracted papers from famous international authors in the area.<br>
<br>
IMPORTANT DATES:<br>
<br>
August 20 at 4pm GMT:  Deadline (extended) for submission of papers<br>
October 21:            Notification of Authors<br>
January 17, 2014:      Post-Proceeding Version<br>
<br>
<br>
SUBMISSION INSTRUCTIONS: The 12 page submitted paper (at maximum 16 pages<br>
including appendices and references) should be using 12pt fonts, be anonymous<br>
and have page numbers (e.g., using \pagestyle{plain} after the \maketitle<br>
command). The authors should avoid specifying the paper size (i.e., do not use<br>
A4 or letter options). Submission of the paper should be in PDF format with<br>
embedded fonts (which is guaranteed when using pdflatex). LNCS format is not<br>
recommended for submission, but will be required for the final version.<br>
Authors should state:<br>
<br>
     The total length of this paper, when put in LNCS format, is at most 16 pages.<br>
<br>
Besides above restrictions, the format is free. Please use reasonable margins,<br>
such as using a textheight of 37.5cm and a textwidth of 16.5 cm. The text<br>
should be printable both on letter size as well as A4 size paper (see<br>
above). For submissions, go to:<br>
<a href="https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=isc20130" target="_blank">https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=isc20130</a><br>
<br>
<br>
   PROGRAM CHAIR: Yvo Desmedt, GENERAL CHAIR: Bhavani Thuraisingham, and LOCAL<br>
   CHAIR: Kevin Hamlen<br>
<br>
<br>
NEW TOPIC OF INTEREST: Predicting Malware<br>
<br>
   INTRODUCTION: Cohen with his virus paper predicted new malware. The viruses<br>
that followed and the anti-virus software showed its importance. Although in<br>
the 1980&#39;s scientist and also the makers of WarGames predicted attacks against<br>
critical infrastructures, it took until the deployment of the Stuxnet worm<br>
before it was taken seriously. Banks wait to deploy security mechanisms<br>
against attack vectors until the harm done by hackers make them economically<br>
justifiable, showing the importance of predicting when this threshold will be<br>
reached.<br>
<br>
   TYPE OF PAPERS: Papers using any economic, computer science, engineering,<br>
and/or scientific methods to predict new types, impacts, vulnerabilities,<br>
etc., of future malware are welcome.<br>
<br>
<br>
PROGRAM COMMITTEE:<br>
Alessandro Acquisti              Carnegie Mellon University, USA<br>
Elisa Bertino                    Purdue University, USA<br>
Jean Camp                        Indiana University, USA<br>
K. P. Chow                       University of Hong Kong, China<br>
Ed Dawson                        QUT, Australia<br>
Sabrina De Capitani Di Vimercati University of Milan, Italy<br>
Yvo Desmedt (Chair)              University of Texas at Dallas, USA<br>
Manuel Egele                     Carnegie Mellon University, USA<br>
Hanaoka Goichiro                 AIST, Japan<br>
Thomas Gross                     University of Newcastle, UK<br>
Yong Guan                        Iowa State University, USA<br>
Sushil Jajodia                   George Mason University, USA<br>
Audun Josang                     University of Oslo, Norway<br>
Guenter Karjoth                  IBM Zurich, Switzerland<br>
Brian King                       Indiana University-Purdue University<br>
                                         Indianapolis, USA<br>
Silvio Lattanzi                  Google, USA<br>
Benoit Libert                    Technicolor, France<br>
Helger Lipmaa                    University of Tartu, Estonia<br>
Javier Lopez                     University of Malaga, Spain<br>
Stephen Mclaughlin               Pennsylvania State University, USA<br>
Atsuko Miyaji                    JAIST, Japan<br>
David Naccache                   University of Paris II, France<br>
Tatsuaki Okamoto                 NTT Labs, Japan<br>
Giuseppe Persiano                University of Salerno, Italy<br>
Josef Pieprzyk                   Macquarie University, Australia<br>
Bart Preneel                     Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium<br>
Rei Safavi-Naini                 University of Calgary, Canada<br>
Kouichi Sakurai                  Kyushu University, Japan<br>
Pierangela Samarati              University of Milan, Italy<br>
Joshua Schiffman                 AMD, USA<br>
Gene Spafford                    Purdue University, USA<br>
John Steinberger                 Tsinghua University,China<br>
Ron Steinfeld                    Monash University Australia<br>
Tsuyoshi Takagi                  Kyushu University, Japan<br>
Catherine Tucker                 MIT, USA<br>
Vijay   Varadharajan             Macquarie University, Australia<br>
Meiqin Wang                      Shandong University, China<br>
Yongge Wang                      University of North Carolina Charlotte, USA<br>
Danfeng Yao                      Virginia Tech, USA<br>
John Zic                         CSIRO, Australia<br>
<br>
VENUE: Twenty Fortune 500 companies have headquarters in the Dallas<br>
area. Dallas has several museums and is a multi-cultural city with a variety<br>
of food. Dallas has direct national and international flights, in particular<br>
to Brisbane, Frankfurt, London, Paris, Tokyo, and to several cities in<br>
South-America. Moreover, local transportation is excellent, e.g., Dallas has<br>
the largest tram system in the USA and its public transportation system is one<br>
of the best in the USA.  The historic hotel, Warwick Melrose, which was<br>
recently renovated, is close to McKinney Avenue, known for dining and<br>
bars. GameSec will also be held in Dallas on November 11-12, 2013.<br>
</div><br></div></div>
</div>