[Busec] Tomorrow, Thu Nov 9, 4-6pm: Research On Tap: The Many faces of Cybersecurity Research

Ran Canetti canetti at bu.edu
Wed Nov 8 22:07:39 EST 2017


      This is a reminder regarding BU's  Research On Tap event On
      cybersecurity research, tomorrow 4-6pm. The event is aimed at at
      the general research community at BU. It consists of a sequence of
      ligntning talks, 4-5 minutes each, about different aspects of
      cybersecurity research at BU. See details below.

Best, Ran

--------------------------------------------------------


      *The Many Facets of Cybersecurity Research
      *


          *Thursday, November 9, 2017 | 4-6 pm*


            Photonics Colloquium Room
            8 St. Mary’s Street, 9th Floor

/Hosted byRan Canetti <https://www.bu.edu/hic/profile/ran-canetti/>, 
//Professor, Computer Science, College of Arts & Sciences, and 
Director,Center for Reliable Information Systems & Cyber Security 
(RISCS) <https://www.bu.edu/riscs/>/

Cybersecurity, or the study of information systems that are accessible 
to the public and yet resilient to malicious subversion, has 
become acutely relevant. This study is inherently interdisciplinary and 
multi-faceted. It covers basic issues such as engineering computer 
systems that are resilient to errors and hacking, designing algorithms 
that guarantee the privacy and authenticity of information and 
computations, social issues such as our expectations for personal 
privacy, fairness, and ubiquity in information systems, economic 
incentives for consumers and vendors, legal and political issues 
thrusting liberty against government control and international power 
struggles, and many more. Furthermore, all these aspects are 
intermingled in the design of a relatively small number of information 
systems. This Research on Tap session meeting will feature some of the 
fascinating research done at BU in this area.

Speakers:

  * *Ran Canetti <https://www.bu.edu/hic/profile/ran-canetti/>*,
    Professor, Computer Science, CAS, and Director, Center for Reliable
    Information Systems & Cyber Security (RISCS)
  * *Manuel Egele <https://www.bu.edu/eng/profile/manuel-egele/>*,
    Assistant Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering, ENG
  * *Ahmed Ghappour <https://www.bu.edu/law/profile/ahmed-ghappour/>*,
    Associate Professor, LAW
  * *Sharon Goldberg* <http://www.cs.bu.edu/%7Egoldbe/>, Associate
    Professor, Computer Science, CAS
  * *George Kollios <http://www.cs.bu.edu/%7Egkollios/>*, Professor,
    Computer Science, CAS
  * *Orran Krieger <http://www.bu.edu/cci/okrieg/>*, Professor of the
    Practice, Electrical & Computer Engineering, ENG
  * *Andrei Lapets <http://cs-people.bu.edu/lapets/>*, Director of
    Research Development, Rafik B. Hariri Institute for Computing and
    Computational Science & Engineering; Director, Software and
    Application Innovation Lab (SAIL); and Adjunct Assistant Professor,
    Computer Science, CAS
  * *Leonid Reyzin <http://www.bu.edu/cs/leonid-reyzin/>*, Professor,
    Computer Science, CAS
  * *Andrew Sellars <https://www.bu.edu/law/profile/andrew-sellars/>*,
    Director, Technology & Cyberlaw Clinic, and Clinical Instructor, LAW
  * *Adam Smith <https://www.bu.edu/cs/profiles/adam-smith/>*, Research
    Professor, Computer Science, CAS
  * *David Starobinski <http://people.bu.edu/staro/>*, Professor,
    Electrical & Computer Engineering, Systems Engineering, and Computer
    Science, ENG and CAS
  * *Ari Trachtenberg
    <https://www.bu.edu/eng/profile/ari-trachtenberg/>*, Associate Chair
    of Master Programs and Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering, ENG
  * *Mayank Varia* <https://www.bu.edu/hic/profile/mayank-varia/>,
    Research Scientist and Co-Director, Center for Reliable Information
    Systems and Cyber Security (RISCS)


More details at 
http://www.bu.edu/research/news-events/featured-events-2/research-on-tap-meet-greet-and-learn/

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://cs-mailman.bu.edu/pipermail/busec/attachments/20171108/64eea9fd/attachment.html>


More information about the Busec mailing list