[Busec] FW: 2011 ACM Cloud Computing Security (CCSW) - submission site is open

Bestavros, Azer best at bu.edu
Wed Jun 8 09:49:04 EDT 2011

-----Original Message-----
From: Conference Mailer [mailto:noreply at crypto.cs.stonybrook.edu] 
Sent: Wednesday, June 08, 2011 8:00 AM
To: Bestavros, Azer
Subject: 2011 ACM Cloud Computing Security (CCSW) - submission site is open

2011 ACM Cloud Computing Security Workshop (CCSW) at CCS

October 21, 2011, SWISSOTEL Chicago

Dear Colleagues,

The submission website for CCSW is open! 

The past workshops were a tremendous success, with over 100 people in
the audience, multiple sponsors (NSF, Microsoft), 4-5 invited talks
(Leendert van Doorn, Eric Grosse, Michael Waidner, Whitfield Diffie,
Ian Foster, Peter Mell, Lenore Zuck, Kristin Lauter) and excellent
papers.  This year we hope you will join us in yet another successful

Multiple student stipends are available for students with papers!


Notwithstanding the latest buzzword (grid, cloud, utility computing,
SaaS, etc.), large-scale computing and cloud-like infrastructures are
here to stay.  How exactly they will look like tomorrow is still for
the markets to decide, yet one thing is certain: clouds bring with
them new untested deployment and associated adversarial models and
vulnerabilities.  CCSW aims to bring together researchers and
practitioners in all security aspects of cloud-centric and outsourced
computing, including (but not limited to):

+ practical cryptography for cloud security
+ secure resource virtualization
+ secure data management outsourcing
+ practical privacy & integrity for outsourcing
+ foundations of cloud-centric threat models
+ secure computation outsourcing
+ remote attestation mechanisms
+ sandboxing and VM-based enforcements
+ trust and policy management in clouds
+ secure identity management mechanisms
+ web service security paradigms and mechanisms
+ cloud-centric regulatory compliance
+ business & security risk models and clouds
+ cost & usability models and their interaction with security in clouds
+ scalability of security in global-size clouds
+ trusted computing technology and clouds
+ binary analysis of software for remote attestation and cloud protection
+ network security mechanisms for clouds
+ emerging cloud programming models security
+ energy/costs/efficiency of security in clouds

We would like to especially encourage novel paradigms and controversial
ideas that are not on the above list. The workshop is to act as a
fertile ground for creative debate and interaction in security-
sensitive areas of computing impacted by clouds.

CCSW is soliciting full papers of up to 12 pages and short papers of
up to 6 pages. Submissions must be in double-column ACM format with a
font no smaller than 10 point (note: pages must be numbered). Only
PDF files will be accepted. Submissions not meeting these guidelines
risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Accepted papers
will be published by ACM Press and/or the ACM Digital Library.

*** Both research and position/vision/white papers are invited ***

Submissions must not substantially overlap with papers that have been
published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a
conference with proceedings. All authors and their affiliations
must be listed.

Proposals for panels are also solicited. The proposals are to be
concise, up to 2 pages in length, describe the handled topics, name
potential panelists and briefly scope the panel for CCSW. Disruptive
and controversial panels are particularly encouraged.


Submissions due: July 1, 2011 (11:59pm PDT)
Author notification: August 4, 2011
Camera-ready: August 19, 2011
Panel submissions due: August 10, 2011
Workshop: October 21, 2011

SPONSORS (preliminary list)

Microsoft Research



Organizers ---------------------------------------------------------


Christian Cachin, IBM Research - Zurich
Thomas Ristenpart, University of Wisconsin, Madison


Mark Lee Badger, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Jeffrey Chase, Duke University
Mihai Christodorescu, IBM Research
Byung-Gon Chun, Intel Labs Berkeley
Nick Feamster, Georgia Institute of Technology
Bryan Ford, Yale University
Jonathon Giffin, Georgia Institute of Technology
Ari Juels, RSA Labs
Seny Kamara, Microsoft Research
Ruby Lee, Princeton University
David Molnar, Microsoft Research
Cristina Nita-Rotaru, Purdue University
Alina Oprea, RSA Labs
KyoungSoo Park, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Kui Ren, Illinois Institute of Technology
Rodrigo Rodrigues, Max Planck Institute for Software Systems
Matthias Schunter, IBM Research
Elaine Shi, University of California, Berkeley and PARC
Alexander Shraer, Yahoo Research
Nigel Smart, University of Bristol
Andrew Warfield, University of British Columbia
Dongyan Xu, Purdue University


Kristin Lauter, Microsoft
Adrian Perrig, Carnegie Mellon
Radu Sion, Stony Brook (chair)
Gene Tsudik, UC Irvine
Moti Yung, Google Inc.

More information about the Busec mailing list